The American Society of Preventive Oncology (ASPO) is a multi-disciplinary society which, through a variety of professional education activities which take place surrounding its annual meeting, is primarily committed to serving as an advocate for cancer prevention and control research.

VISION:

ASPO is the organization for accelerating progress towards cancer prevention and control.

MISSION:  

To foster the continuing development of investigators and other professionals involved in cancer prevention and control, and the exchange and translation of scientific information to reduce the cancer burden

Executive Committee

PRESIDENT
Peter Kanetsky, PhD, MPH
Moffitt
Cancer Center

peter.kanetsky@moffitt.org

SECRETARY/TREASURER
Cheryl Thompson
Case Western Reserve University
cherly@case.edu

PAST PRESIDENT
Polly Newcomb, PhD
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
pnewcomb@fhcrc.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Karen Basen-Engquist, PhD
UT M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
kbasenen@mdanderson.org

Special Interest Group Chairs

Lifestyles, Energy Balance, and Chemoprevention

Elisa Bandera, MD, PhD
banderel@cinj.rutgers.edu

Cancer Health
Disparities

Aimee James, PhD
jamesai@wudosis.wustl.edu

Molecular Epidemiology & Environment

Mack Ruffin, MD
mruffin@hmc.psu.edu

Early Detection & Risk Prediction

Mira Katz, PhD
mira.katz@osumc.edu

Behavioral Science & Health Communication

David Cavallo, PhD
dxc434@case.edu

Survivorship & Health Outcomes

Katherine Sterba, PhD
sterba@musc.edu

International Issues
in Cancer

Tomi Akinyemiju, PhD
tomiakin@uab.edu

Early Career
Development

Hazel Nichols, PhD
hazel.nichols@unc.edu

At-Large Executive Committee Members

Sandi Pruitt, PhD
UT – Southwestern
Sandi.Pruitt@UTSouthwestern.edu

TBD

Shine Chang, PhD
UT M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
shinechang@mdanderson.org

ASPO National Office

Heidi Sahel
ASPO National Office
330 WARF Bldg., 610 Walnut Street
Madison, WI 53705
Phone: (608) 263-9515
Fax: (608) 263-4497
Click Here to Email